Redesigning Intellectual Property Protection in the Era of Artificial Intelligence

January 26, 2022 | 10am – 1:10pm (Hong Kong Time)
January 25, 2022 | 9pm – 12:10am (US Eastern Standard Time)
This symposium will be conducted via Zoom.

Panel 1: AI and Patent Protection (10am – 11:30am, HKT / 9pm – 10:30pm, EST)

Moderator & Commentator: Ruth Okediji, Jeremiah Smith, Jr. Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

Speakers:

Artificial Inventors
Ryan Abbott, Professor of Law and Health Sciences, University of Surrey School of Law

AI and IP: Putting the Doctrinal Cart before the Empirical Horse
Daniel Gervais, Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law, Vanderbilt University Law School

Algorithmic Bias in the Coming Patent System
Dan Burk, Distinguished and Chancellor’s Professor of Law, University of California, Irvine School of Law

Artificial Intelligence Inventions
Haochen Sun, Associate Professor of Law, University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law

Panel 2: AI and Copyright Protection (11:40am – 1:10pm, HKT / 10:40pm – 12:10am, EST)

Moderator & Commentator: Mark McKenna, Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law

Speakers:

AI Copyrights: No Longer a Toy Problem
Pamela Samuelson, Richard M. Sherman Distinguished Professor of Law and Information, UC Berkeley School of Law

Fair Learning
Mark Lemley, William H. Neukom Professor of Law, Stanford Law School

A New Sui Generis Right
Haochen Sun, Associate Professor of Law, University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law

The AI-Copyright Challenge: Tech-Neutrality, Authorship, and the Public Interest
Carys Craig, Associate Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School

Please register as soon as possible at https://hkuems1.hku.hk/hkuems/ec_regform.aspx?guest=Y&UEID=79809.

For inquiries, please contact Ms. Grace Chan at mcgrace@hku.hk / (+852) 3917 4727.